DUI Lawyers

serving clients in Henderson, Las Vegas and other Clark County, NV cities

If you get pulled over and arrested in Nevada after suspicion of driving while intoxicated, you may feel that there is no help available to you.

However, drunk driving charges can be contested, and our DUI lawyers regularly challenge them using a wide range of defenses.

Smith Legal Group understands the fear, anxiety, and panic you may be experiencing if you’ve been prosecuted for any criminal charge involving drunk driving. Our aim is to protect your rights, minimize the potential consequences of the DUI charge, and achieve the best possible outcome given the circumstances.

Call (702) 410-5001 for a free consultation to speak to one of DUI lawyers and get your life back to normal.

What to do if charged with DUI

In Nevada, if you are booked on drunk driving charges, ensure you take the following three steps to strengthen your case in the court.

1. Speak with someone you trust

After getting booked or jailed, call a friend, family member, or loved one. Hearing their voice can provide comfort, and their perception of how you sound may be helpful for your case later on.

2. Contact a criminal defense lawyer

It’s important to secure a top criminal defense attorney who understands the complexities of Nevada DUI laws as soon as possible. Contacting your lawyer promptly allows you to share your side of the story while your memory is fresh and enables your lawyer to conduct a pre-file investigation.

3. Request your attorney contact the DMV

If you took a breath test during your arrest, you must contact the DMV within seven (7) days to contest your license suspension. Your attorney can then contact the DMV and make arrangements to challenge your license loss, but they must do so within the seven-day time frame.

DUI penalties in Nevada

Facing charges for a DUI (driving under the influence) is a serious matter and shouldn’t be taken lightly, even for first-time offenders.

Below are the penalties for an initial DUI offense. Penalties for subsequent convictions are more severe. A third DUI within seven years or a DUI resulting in death or significant bodily harm constitutes felony offenses.

  • Arrest
  • Vehicle impounded
  • 2 days to 6 months in jail or community service
  • Fine $400 to $1,000
  • Chemical test fee $60
  • DUI school or substance abuse treatment
  • Victim impact panel
  • Ignition interlock in vehicle or license revocation
  • $121 reinstatement fee
  • $35 victims compensation civil penalty
  • $42.25 driver license fee + $26 testing fee
  • DMV tests – vision, knowledge, possibly skills
  • SR-22 certificate of liability insurance required for 3 years

A driver license revocation is a separate action from any criminal case. Motorists may appeal a revocation through the DMV Office of Administrative Hearings.

License reinstatement is not automatic, even if the criminal charges were reduced or dismissed. You must meet all reinstatement requirements and apply for a license to regain your driving privilege.

A revocation which is not reinstated will remain on your record indefinitely and you will not be able to obtain a driver license in any state.

dui concept of man driving drunk with bottle in hand

Smith Legal Group has an exceptional win rate representing clients accused of DUI.

Each DUI/DWI case presents its own unique circumstances, and you have the right to fair and impartial legal proceedings.

The burden lies with the prosecution to establish guilt beyond a reasonable doubt, which is why having an experienced DUI attorney by your side is essential to avoid making any statements or admissions that could be self-incriminating.

Complete our submission form below or call us at (702) 410-5001 to discuss your DUI in a free consultation.

I acknowledge that contacting Smith Legal Group through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship. Any information I send is not protected by the attorney-client privilege.